Oklahoma Office of the Attorney General

Oklahoma Office of the Attorney General logo

The Attorney General’s Office has been part of Oklahoma’s state government since 1907 when Charles West became Oklahoma’s first Attorney General. Attorney General Scott  Pruitt is the sixteenth person to hold the office. By statute, the Attorney General’s Office provides legal counsel and representation for state agencies and employees. The office also represents the interests of Oklahoma consumers, the state’s natural resources, and Oklahoma crime victims. The Attorney General’s office has multiple units dedicated to carrying out the mission and duties of the office.